Sherpa 100AC remaining capacity issue

Options
sverd
sverd Member Posts: 2 ✭✭

Hello,

I've been using a Sherpa 100AC for a bit more than two years now. It's been 1 or 2 months that it started to show a strange behaviour when charging or being used to charge devices (mainly smartphones). At first, it refused to go below 12% and, instead of showing a message telling "battery empty", it turned off automatically, and would not display anything unless being charged a bit. Then when charging it, it would stop charging at 90% (input at 0wh).

More recently, it would automatically turn off at 30% when being discharged. I resetted it but it doesn't seem to change anything. I'm well aware that the battery loses capacity over time, but I would expect it to continue going from ~4-5% to 100%, knowing that 1% would no longer be around 1wh but slightly less.

Cycle count is at 192. Firmware is 3.18 (I'm not sure if there is a way to update it).

Is there something to perform on the unit to calibrate it or help it know its boundaries ?

Thanks

Answers

• GOAL ZERO ADMIN
    GOAL ZERO ADMIN Member, Administrator, Moderator Posts: 633 admin
    Options

Hi @sverd,

Cycling the battery 6-8 times typically will help calibrate the information shared between the display and the battery. We do this with our Yeti power stations when they haven't been used for more than a month.

• sverd
    sverd Member Posts: 2 ✭✭
    Options

Hi,

Thank your for your reply. I've attempted many things but still the same problem. For example currently, my unit goes to 99% charge, then when I plug my phone to charge it, the Sherpa 100AC goes down to 82% then turns off (no display, even if I press on the power button). Of course the phone stops charging.